SPORTS: Condi is on the committee

Former Secretary of State Condoleezza Rice is among the 13 people who were officially announced yesterday (October 16th) as members of the new College Football Playoff selection committee, which will pick the four teams that will play for the national title next year. The College Football Playoff will replace the Bowl Championship Series, and the selection committee will choose and seed four teams to play in the semifinals. The winners of those games, played on a rotating basis at six bowl sites, will play for the national championship. Rice, who called herself a "student of the game," was a surprising pick because she's never worked directly in college athletics, although when she was provost at Stanford the athletic department was under her supervision. She is the only woman on the committee. The panel is made up of five current athletic directors, former players and coaches and college administrators, and a former member of the media.


Filed Under :
Topics : Sports
People : Condoleezza Rice
...JOIN US: Register | Login